About the European Board of Paediatric Urology, the Multidisciplinary Joint Committee of Paediatric Urology and the European Academy of Paediatric Urology

The UEMS is a non-governmental organisation representing national associations of medical specialists at the European Level. With a current membership of 34 national associations and operating through 39 Specialist Sections and European Boards, the UEMS is committed to promote the free movement of medical specialists across Europe while ensuring the highest level of training which will pave the way to the improvement of quality of care for the benefit of all European citizens. The UEMS areas of expertise notably encompass Continuing Medical Education, Post Graduate Training and Quality Assurance.

It is the UEMS' conviction that the quality of medical care and expertise is directly linked to the quality of training provided to the medical professionals. The UEMS therefore committed itself to contribute to the improvement of medical training at the European level through the development of European Standards in the different medical disciplines. No matter where doctors are trained, they should have at least the same core competencies.

In 1994, the UEMS adopted its Charter on Post Graduate Training aiming at providing the recommendations at the European level for good medical training. Made up of six chapters, this Charter set the basis for the European approach in the field of Post Graduate Training. With five chapters being common to all specialties, this Charter provided a sixth chapter, known as “Chapter 6”, that each Specialist Section was to complete according to the specific needs of their discipline.

More than 20 years after the introduction of this Charter, the UEMS Specialist Sections and European Boards have continued working on developing these European Standards in Medical training that reflects modern medical practice and current scientific findings. In doing so, the UEMS Specialist Sections and European Boards did not aim to supersede the National Authorities' competence in defining the content of postgraduate training in their own State but rather to complement this and to ensure that high quality training is provided across Europe.

At the European level, the legal mechanism ensuring the free movement of doctors through the recognition of their qualifications was established back in the 1970s by the European Union. Sectorial Directives were adopted and one Directive addressed specifically the issue of medical Training at the European level. However, in 2005, the European Commission proposed to the European Parliament and Council to have a unique legal framework for the recognition of the Professional Qualifications to facilitate and improve the mobility of all workers throughout Europe. This Directive 2005/36/EC established the mechanism of automatic mutual recognition of qualifications for medical doctors according to training requirements within all Member States; this is based on the length of training in the Specialty and the title of qualification.

Given the long-standing experience of UEMS Specialist Sections and European Boards on the one hand and the European legal framework enabling Medical Specialists and Trainees to move from one country to another on the other hand, the UEMS is uniquely in position to provide specialty-based recommendations. The UEMS values professional competence as “the habitual and judicious use of communication, knowledge, technical skills, clinical reasoning, emotions, values, and reflection in daily practice for the benefit of the individual and community being served”. While professional activity is regulated by national law in EU Member States, it is the UEMS understanding that it has to comply with International treaties and UN declarations on Human Rights as well as the WMA International Code of Medical Ethics.

This document derives from the previous Chapter 6 of the Training Charter and provides definitions of specialist competencies and procedures as well as how to document and assess them. For the sake of transparency and coherence, it has been renamed as “Training Requirements for the Specialty of X”. This document aims to provide the basic Training Requirements for each specialty and should be regularly updated by UEMS Specialist Sections and European Boards to reflect scientific and medical progress. The three-part structure of these documents reflects the UEMS approach to have a coherent pragmatic document not only for medical specialists but also for decision-makers at the National and European level interested in knowing more about medical specialist training.

This document supports the role of UEMS in setting Standards in the field of PGT, ref to Charter on PGT. It was approved by the UEMS Specialist Section and the European Board of Urology and Paediatric Surgery at the UEMS Council meeting in Paris, 18th October 2013. Since October 2013, the Multidisciplinary Joint Committee (MJC) of Paediatric Urology (PU) with its training requirements for the subspecialty Paediatric Urology is recognized by the UEMS as the European standard of postgraduate medical specialist training. This Document is designed to harmonise training programmes in Paediatric Urology between different European countries.

Past and present members of the EBPU / MJC-PU


  • Rien Nijman (2002 - 2011),
  • Eamonn Kiely (2002 - 2011)
  • Antonios Stefanidis (2011 - 2013)
  • Radim Koçvara (2011 - 2019)
  • Guy Bogaert (2014 - 2023)
  • Serdar Tekgül (2019 – 2022)
  • Josef Oswald (2022 – 2023)
  • Yazan Rawashdeh (2023 – present)
  • Manuela Hiess (2023 – present)


  • Olen Henrik Nielsen (2002 - 2006)
  • Yves Aigrain (2002 - 2011)
  • Jorgen Thorup (2006 - 2015)
  • Cenk Buyukunal (2011 - 2019)
  • Jean Michel Guys (2016 - 2023)
  • Peter Vajda (2019 – present)
  • Luis Garcia Aparicio (2023 – present)


  • Kelm Hjälmås (2002 - 2004)
  • Guy Bogaert (2002 - 2006)
  • David Thomas (2005 - 2010)
  • Christian Radmayr (2006 - 2015)
  • Raimund Stein (2011 - 2019)
  • Wout Feitz (2016 – 2019)
  • Rafal Chrzan (2019 - present)
  • Gillian Barker (2019 – present)

Ex officio:

  • Serdar Tekgül (2003 - 2010)
  • Ram Subramaniam (2011 - 2016)
  • Berk Burgu (2017 - 2021)
  • Gundela Holmdalh (2021 – present)


  • Yves Aigrain (2002 - 2011)
  • Jorgen Thorup (2011 - 2015)
  • Radim Kocvara (2015 - 2019)
  • Jean Michel Guys (2019 – 2023)
  • Yazan Rawashdeh (2023 – present)


  • Guy Bogaert (2002 - 2006)
  • Christian Radmayr (2006 - 2015)
  • Raimund Stein (2015 - 2019)
  • Rafal Chrzan (2019 – present)


  • Jean Michel Guys (2017 – 2023)
  • Peter Vajda (2023 - present)


Tags: About